I would like to dedicate this entry to German food. Now being here only a week, I am nowhere near a German cuisine connoisseur, but I would like to share my opinions and experiences. I really need to get out of the American food mindset, as in I really shouldn't assume that all grapes are seedless and that food I buy at the grocery store must have directions on them.
I bought some wurst at the store. Or what I thought was wurst. I don't know. All I know is that when I pan cooked it on my stove, it ended up smelling like piss. I did attempt it again with a better looking package of bratwurst and it came out much better. The trip to the grocery store was much better than last weeks disaster! No one rushed me at the check out, I was able to rent a shopping cart, and I stocked up for the week and only paid 13 Euro (about $18 USD). Which seemed very reasonable to me, I'm not quite sure if the food is cheaper or if I am just as savvy in Berlin.
By the uber touristy Checkpoint Charlie is (of all things) a McDonalds. Not just any McDonalds, but the fanciest McDonalds I have ever seen. What makes this McDonalds fancy? Well, I regret not taking a picture, but its probably the cleanest, newest, and most high tech McDonalds I've ever seen, complete with touch screen DIY order machines. Not to mention the fancy European themed menu with its Magnum McFlurries and gourmet chicken nuggets. It was so fancy that I felt it was my right as an American to take a giant wad of napkins for my use in my apartment.
But checking out the menus and grocery stores it seems that pasta, pizza, beer, and currywurst is extremely cheap. Beer is cheaper than water. Also, due to the large Turkish population, Doner Kebap is a form of German "fast food", which I have yet to try. I love all the wurst I have tried! Unless you go to touristy areas, it is hard to find a good burger, steak, etc. And I have seen a lot of Asian food here - especially restaurants that combing different types of Asian food (Vietnamese, Japanese, Chinese).
Sadly, I still don't have much of a taste for beer, even German beer. Patrick talked me into trying a mixture of 7Up and beer, which still tasted like pure beer to me. Although I did try lemonade and malt, which I really liked. Maybe I will find a German beer that I actually like...
I definitely want to try as many different types of food and drinks as I can. This week I started my classes which was very exciting for me! I only have one class left tomorrow morning and then I'm done for the week :]
No comments:
Post a Comment